24

May
2022

Happy Africa Day 2022!

Posted By : Travel Africa Movement/ 98 0

Every May 25th, Africa and the world commemorates the 1963 founding of the Organization of African Unity, the precursor to the African Union (AU). Africa Day also celebrates African unity and allows us to reflect on the continent’s achievements and common challenges. The AU has themed this year’s celebration 2022: The Year of Nutrition, with a goal of increasing food and nutrition security across the continent.

YouTube’s Africa Day Concert is back for its 3rd year with host Idris Elba and some of Africa’s finest music artists, like Davido and Yemi Alade. The concert will stream live on Wednesday, May 25th starting at 1:00pm EST/6:00pm WAT/7:00pm CAT/8:00pm EAT.

Also in celebration of Africa Day, for the entire month of May Netflix is featuring a special collection of African stories from across the continent called “From Cape to Cairo“. This collection includes titles like “Our Music, Our Culture, Our History,” “Award-Winners & Critics’ Favourites,” “African Women Behind the Camera,” “Love Across the Continent,” “Stories From The African Diaspora,” and more. Apple has several podcast replays which highlight the holiday, including Why Is Africa Day Important? and Celebrating Africa Day. And organizations around the globe will hold symposiums and other gatherings on May 25th. To find more Africa Day information and events, search the hashtags #AfricaDay, #AfricaDay2022, and #AfricanUnion on Twitter and Instagram.

Africa Day is May 25th

Lastly, the Travel Africa Movement is celebrating Africa Day with 15% off all merchandise in our online store. This discount is valid thru May 31st with code AFRICADAY. Visit our store today and show Africa some love!

Leave your comment

Please enter comment.
Please enter your name.
Please enter your email address.
Please enter a valid email address.